Scientific Board

The Scientific Board’s mission is to provide an external, critical perspective on the association’s work. It also advises on the strategic direction of training and research in the light of changes in the French and international landscape. It meets twice a year.

Members of the Scientific Board

  • Patrick Caron (Geographer, CIRAD & University of Montpellier, France)
  • Eve Chiapello (Sociologist, Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris, France)
  • Séverine Deneulin (Research Director in Development Studies, Laudato Si’ Research Institute, Campion Hall and Lecturer at ODID, Oxford University, United Kingdom).
  • Hilary Mc Manus (Biologist, Le Moyne College, USA)
  • Marthe Nyssens (Economics, UCLouvain, Belgium)
  • Dominique Steiler (UNESCO Chair in Economic Peace, Grenoble Ecole de Management, France)
  • Jennie Stephens (Professor of Environmental Science, Northeastern University, Boston, USA)
  • Nancy Tuchmann (Founding Dean, School of Environmental Sustainability at Loyola University Chicago, Biologist, School of Environmental Sustainability, Chicago Loyola, USA)
  • Sandra Waddock (Professor of Management, Boston College, USA)
  • Christian Wagner (Political scientist, Georgetown University, USA)
  • Aurélien Colson (Professor of Political Science, Director of IRENE, ESSEC Business School, France)
  • Gisou Van der Goot (Professor of Life Sciences, Dean of the Faculty of Life Sciences, Vice-President for Responsible Transformation at EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Jean-Philippe Pierron (Professor of Philosophy at the University of Burgundy and Scientific Director of the Chair in the Value of Care, Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University , France)
  • Jonathan Dawson (Educator, consultant, researcher and writer on sustainable development, Head of the Economics Department, Schumacher College, United Kingdom)
  • Nathalie Frascaria-Lacoste (Professor, Laboratory of Ecology, Systematics and Evolution, AgroParisTech, France)

Previous meetings

May 16, 2023

This meeting provided an opportunity to adopt the operating rules for the Scientific Board, to share the latest news from the Campus in terms of training and research, and finally to discuss the Campus strategy for the next 3 years. All participants confirmed their commitment to the Board for a further 3 years. They also made recommendations on the visibility of the Campus, fundraising and the motivation of researchers

November 15, 2022

The Campus de la Transition team gave a brief presentation of the major advances made on projects since the last Scientific Board. It then focused on the work in progress on the 3-year training strategy. Several strategic avenues were presented. In view of the Campus’s assets and founding objective, the Scientific Board advised to focus on the academic world and on audiences already committed to the Transition. For greater impact, it suggested focusing on the training of trainers.

May 19, 2022

The Campus de la Transition team presented the progress made in the various training areas and research projects. The Scientific Board praised the progress made in a short space of time. The question of disseminating the Campus’s pedagogy internationally came up again. Several aspects of this approach were discussed, including the carbon impact of bringing learners from abroad or sending a trainer, the existence of similar initiatives in several countries, the uniqueness of each context and the need to adapt form and content to local audiences. From this discussion emerged the idea of moving towards the creation of an international consortium of PhD students, some of whom will become tomorrow’s university teachers.

November 23, 2021

The Campus de la Transition team presented all its current pedagogical projects (academic training, vocational training and trainer training) and research projects (ORFEE project, MC2, Mobility), as well as its successes and challenges. In view of the energy deployed by the Campus to develop its pedagogy, the Scientific Board suggested developing research projects around it. It also suggested that the Campus broaden the scope of training and dissemination of its pedagogy internationally. The Scientific Board asked the Campus team to present its training strategy at a forthcoming Board meeting, so that it could offer advice.

May 27, 2021

November 17, 2020

May 29, 2020

May 17, 2019 : First meeting of the Scientific Board (french version only)

Past members

  • Celia Deane-Drummond (Biologist and theologian, Oxford, UK)
  • Gaël Giraud (Economist, CNRS, Paris)
  • Hervé Le Treut (Climatologist, Institut Pierre-Simon Laplace, Paris)
  • Mark Swilling (Political scientist, Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Lawrence Tanner (Geologist, LeMoyne College, Syracuse, USA)
  • Frédéric Worms (Philosopher, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris)

Retour en haut